threesofar

Just another WordPress.com site

The Start of Something…

I’ve dabbled in several blogs before, but never on a personal level.  With Advent just beginning, I figure what better time to start, you know, without it being some sort of New Year’s resolution.

I keep busy with my three children, all age four and under, probably more for my own sanity than theirs.  But out of that comes a lot of ideas and good memories that my family will [hopefully] cherish as they get older.  A lot of crafts, outings, cooking, and anything else we can think of makes things really buzz around here.  The first installment of the season?  Our Advent wreath.

When my oldest was one-and-a-half, we started making an Advent wreath on our back window, “lighting” a candle each Sunday after the one was lit at church.  Complete with holly leaves and berries (or cranberries, as my daughter calls them), it made, and still makes, a nice little decoration for the sliding door, and keeps the kids occupied for a bit.  Added bonus:  I let them put up one cranberry on the holly leaves for each good deed that they do throughout the week, with the goal of having the whole thing filled with berries by the end of Advent.  They get such a kick out of it, and it has become a nice little tradition.  I’ll have to post a photo of this year’s version, 100% cut out by only my daughter, except for the flames.  Pretty nice!

In accordance with Murphy’s Law, my son just woke up from his nap.  In the one minute that he’s been awake, I’ve been asked if we could get the Michigan flag from the basement (me:  the Mexican flag?  him:  No, the Mich. A. Gan.  Flaaaag! PS:  He’s 2.), been told he’s so hungry, and notified that a Christmas tree fell down.

I feel the need to clarify a few things.  1.  In honor of the OSU vs. Michigan game this weekend, my husband decided to emblazon a white elephant gift (read:  a 4′ x 6′ Michigan flag) with a duct tape “X” and hang it out our window.  2. If you have a boy, chances are you know they are ALWAYS hungry. 3. I’m not sure what Christmas tree he referred to, because we have not bought ours yet.  Near as I can tell, he’s just talking about some of the decorations sitting in the hallway waiting to spruce up the house.

Until then…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

